Beau

#16-106

At A Glance


  • Age: 10 years, 11 months
  • Breed: Golden Retriever
  • Gender: Male
  • Weight: 90.00 lbs
  • Location: N/A
  • Status: Adopted

Profile


In addition to LOVE this dog has the following requirements:
Date Posted Fence Kid Friendly Another Dog Cat Friendly
6/25/16
 Required10+
 RequiredYes
This is the most recent information available; however, it may change as we learn more about the dog.

Hello RAGOM fans – I want to tell you a story about a dog that realized life could be different.  You see, a few weeks ago, I wasn’t very happy, but I didn’t know that life could be different.  I was rescued by some kind people from a hard living situation, and brought to a shelter.  I was scared – I didn’t know what to expect from the people around me, so I kept my head down, and didn’t wag my tail.

Soon a nice man came and brought me and some of my friends here to Minnesota.  When I got here, I was picked up by someone called my “foster Dad” and brought to his home.  I was so scared I did not even know what to do with myself.  There were kids, a dog, and three cats, and all I could do was put my head down.  I wasn’t used to so much open space, so many people and strange smells.

At first, it seemed that life maybe was just as scary and sad as before – but after a few hours, I realized that these people liked to stop near me and pet my head.  I really liked that, and one time, my tail started to wag, and my foster Mom told me I was such a handsome boy!  She seemed so excited that I stood up and let her pet my head again, and we both felt happy.

Since that day I have decided to trust these new people – and life has changed a lot.  Every day I go for a few walks outside, making sure I know where all the good neighborhood smells are around this house.  I walk very nicely on the leash with only a little pulling every now and then.  At first I got so tired, since I wasn’t used to walking outside much, but now I can do nice long walks without too much panting.

I know the rules of the house, and let these people know that it is time to go outside to do my “business.”  Sometimes it takes me a few minutes to find the best place, and these people have learned to just be a little patient while I find the best spot.

When I am in a room alone I will usually take a nice long nap, but sometimes I will bark to find out where my people are – I like to know that there are people around me, it makes me feel safe.  Sometimes I worry and whine a little bit, but recently I have done less of that, since I trust that people will take good care of me.

They feed me twice a day with the resident dog that lives here, and I am working hard to learn to “sit” before I eat.  I am pretty smart, and my foster mom thinks I will get the hang of it soon.  When I was a young pup, I didn’t get to play much, so I am really starting to get the hang of these toys.  I have a chew toy and two favorite animals to carry around with me.  Sometimes I like to take shoes and socks with me, but my foster mom tells me those are not for me.  Some days it is hard to remember which things I can take with me and which things are for my humans!  I am learning quickly, and love to empty the toy basket every day.

I am looking for a forever family now – my foster parents tell me I am ready to meet the humans that will make me happy for the rest of my life.  What I am looking for in a family are the following things:

1. Lots of love and time to spend with me

2. Humans to take on walks

3. Kids, but maybe slightly older kids as I am a pretty big boy and don’t want to knock anyone over

4. Someone that is patient to help me learn new tricks and manners

5. A brushing once a week – boy do I like to be brushed, especially outside in the sunshine under a tree.


If this sounds like fun to you, please check in with RAGOM and see if we can have a play date.

Sponsor Beau

Dog Updates

You Recently Viewed