Lily

#16-244

At A Glance


  • Age: 6 years, 9 months
  • Breed: Golden Retriever
  • Gender: Female
  • Location: N/A
  • Status: Adopted

Profile


In addition to LOVE this dog has the following requirements:
Date Posted Fence Kid Friendly Another Dog Cat Friendly
10/23/2016 Physical fence recommended
Ages 6+
Optional
Unknown; not recommended
This is the most recent information available; however, it may change as we learn more about the dog.

Hello, RAGOM family and fans!

My name is Lily (16-244). I'm about nine months old, an English Cream Golden Retriever, and a total sweetie according to my foster mom (FM). I came to RAGOM because someone in my family I lived with was allergic to me, so they had to say goodbye. I know that they loved me, though, and the FM can tell I was very well cared for. Not tested on these things referred to as cats (and I do like to pull on the the leash when I see small animals like squirrels), so the FM suspects I might try to make a meal of these cat things. From what I've heard of them, they make humans their slaves anyway, so they can't be very friendly!

I know how to "sit" and "shake," and she says I'm really well-behaved for still being a puppy! I'm pretty much potty trained; the only times I've had accidents is if the FM is gone and I have this thing called free roam. The FM suspects I'm just not used to all of the freedom yet. My house I came from had a fenced yard and the new one doesn't, plus I was used to being in a kennel more at my first home. I still like to go in the kennel at the FM's, but I'm really starting to like this free-roam thing. I don't chew anything up, am not destructive, and do not have separation anxiety. I had been sleeping downstairs on the couch or in my kennel, but last night, for the first time, I slept in the bedroom with my foster bro (FB) Indy and the FM. It was kinda nice! Indy and I would take turns sleeping on his comfy bed; maybe some day we can share it together!


Speaking of Indy, he's kind of a grumpy old dude, but I think he's warming up to me. I can really get him wound up sometimes, and the FM loves seeing him active and playing. Playing is one of my favorite things! I love playing fetch in the house and have my little baby teddy bear I like to play with, as well. I am hoping that my forever home has a nice fenced-in yard so that we can play fetch all day!


I've been learning a lot of new words and acronyms this week, like FM, w-a-l-k, etc. Speaking of walking, the FM says I'm not too bad on the leash, but I need some work as I pull and will wind around her and occasionally tangle her up a bit. I do love going on walks! Today, the FM took Indy and me in the woods by the river, and we had a great time exploring.

Did I mention that I ride really well in the car? I go right into the back with my FB and am chill while we're driving or if the FM gets out and goes into a store.


One thing the FM says has been a challenge has been my eating habits. My appetite is good - I'm just picky. The first few days, my FM tried everything to get me to eat, but I was pretty nervous. She fed me from her hand, switched bowls, added liquid. Finally, she bought some chicken, boiled it, and used a bit of that and the broth on my dry food, and that seemed to help a lot in getting me to eat my food. Don't get me wrong - I wanted to eat everything she had - I just didn't want my dog food. But again, I was a bit nervous being in a new place.

And speaking of nervous, while I've gotten better, the FM says that I am skittish. She says noises and sudden movement startle me, so go slow when you get to know me and let me come to you for petting. While I did come from a home with a young child (four years old), the FM recommends that I have older children in my next home, or well-behaved young children that can respect my comfort and know to use caution around me so as not to startle me. But I am getting better, so she thinks some of this will get better as I get used to living in a new home. Lots of changes for me! The FM says because of my size, coloring, and skittishness, I remind her just a bit of her last foster Declan, and she has almost called me his name more than once!


I've not been microchipped or spayed yet, but the FM has a vet appointment for me on Thursday to get microchipped, make sure I'm up to date on all vaccines, and schedule my spay. After the surgery, I'll be available for adoption!

One thing the FM wants to make sure that potential families know about me is that I shed. A LOT. So I'll require regular grooming and brushing, and if you can't stand the thought of the occasional fluffy white furball on the floor, I'm probably not your girl. (The FM has this sign below in her kitchen and she says it's like it was meant for me).


Overall, my FM says I'm the total package deal, and any family that loves a bundle of fluffy, lovable fur will be lucky to have me join their pack!

I'll be sure to update you after my vet visit on Thursday with a report on my health and date for my surgery. Wish me luck!

Until next time,

Lily (aka Lily Bear, Lils, Lil Lil, and Lilbilly)

Sponsor Lily

Dog Updates

You Recently Viewed