Luke

(Charlie)

#15-070

At A Glance


  • Age: 7 years, 7 months
  • Breed: Golden Retriever
  • Gender: Male
  • Weight: 15.00 lbs
  • Location: N/A
  • Status: Adopted

Profile


In addition to LOVE this dog has the following requirements:
Entered Foster Care Fence Kid Friendly Another Dog Cat Friendly
3/7/15 Optional Yes Optional Yes 
This is the most recent information available; however, it may change as we learn more about the dog.

Luke is an 11-week-old PB male English Cream Golden Retriever puppy. He was surrendered from a breeder in South Dakota because he had a heart murmur. He is current on vaccines, and the really good news is when he had his wellness check the RAGOM vet didn’t hear a heart murmur. He is a healthy, happy puppy.  


Luke here! I’m having the best time here!  I’m learning lots of big boy things like how to go potty outside, and my FM is teaching me to “sit” for a treat and come when she calls me. There is a 1-year-old dog here and he is my best friend. I love to play with him. We play bitey and wrestle, and I just learned how to do zoomies. One of my favorite things to do is explore outside. I always find something fun like mushrooms, a petrified frog, or deer poop. FM has eyes in the back of her head though and never lets me eat my prizes. I love to chew just about everything—the rungs on the kitchen chair, the toy basket, the lawn chair, FM’s slippers. She has lots of stuffed toys and bones, and if I am chewing on something naughty she sticks something else in front of me and I just start chewing on that. Oh ya, I almost forgot to tell you I LOVE water: puddles, swamps, streams, lakes. If you have a cabin or a favorite lake where I could swim in the summer, I will be so happy!!!


FM here again: Luke has gotten into our routine really well. I work from home and so I’m able to work with his potty training. He is doing well with that but it is still a work in progress. He now heads for the door as his cue when he has to go (such a good boy!!).  He has spurts of activity where he’ll play hard and then is zonked out and naps. His favorite spots are a dog bed next to me or in the kitchen on the cool tile floor. Sometimes I crate him to reinforce that it is “down time.” He did NOT like being crated when he first got here, but he is getting more used to that. He sleeps in a crate at night and he loves having his own cozy nest. He is not too crazy about being crated during the day though, and he will bark for the first few minutes before he settles down. He’s been in the crate during the day for up to 3 hrs while I get some work done or am away from home. 

Luke has an upbeat and fun personality. It is hilarious seeing him try to keep up with my 1 year old pup.  They have a really nice rhythm when they play where there is lots of checking in with each other. When he is done playing he’ll just go lie down and chill out. In many ways he acts like an older pup and I forget how young he really is. He learns at lightening fast speed and he can be very independent, so this little peanut will definitely need obedience class. 

If you have time to devote to helping Luke, he will be your best friend. He is very lovey and is going to be an amazing dog, Let your placement person know if you are interested in him!

Sponsor Luke

Dog Updates

You Recently Viewed